Welcome to Fall!

Hello friends,

Well my slacker tendencies have led to a 2+ month lag in posts and (unsurprisingly) a lot has happened since I got back from Darjeeling in July! As you might expect the last few weeks of my summer program were a whirlwind. In our last week we had about 7 exams plus a final presentation and cultural performance, and preparation for all of this didn’t leave time for much else. For my final presentation I wrote a children’s book and then translated it to Bangla (with the help of a small village). My lovely mother and I are still putting together illustrations but you may get to see the fruits of our labor.

In the time I did find between tests and packing, I visited some touristy sites like the Missions of Charity where Mother Teresa spent a lot of her time in Kolkata, Kalighat Temple (one of the oldest and most famous Hindu temples in Kolkata), Victoria Memorial, St. Paul’s Cathedral, South Park Street Cemetery (a beautiful colonial cemetery) and I’m sure a bunch of other things I’m forgetting.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I have plenty of excuses for the long delay in posting. Haha. In the few remaining hours I did have I decided to plan an American National Park road trip through the North West for my return. So my next post will be about all of the lovely American treasures I experienced on this trip.

I am so grateful for my time in Kolkata, I learned and experienced so much and I already can’t wait to get back. Without question, West Bengal left an important mark on me and I really hope I can find lots of ways to put my newly acquired language skills to use! (Suggestions welcome).

Though this blog started out as a way for me to share my experiences in Peace Corps, I plan on transitioning it to a more general travel blog starting with my next post. Since I took so much time off posting while I was in graduate school, I will probably do some throwback posts as well and discuss what I learned in various places I had the privilege of traveling to over the last few years.

So for the time being I will say দেখা হবে (see you later) to Kolkata and to you.

Published by Bethany Woodson

Just a couple of aspiring activists out here in the world trying to learn something.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Fall!

  1. Since you returned from India in July, you have probably visited lots of the Nat’l Parks out west. I will be waiting patiently to hear all about them. Did you experience any ‘bad’ weather while you were in India?

    Like

    1. Hey Aunt Linda!
      I actually got back from India in August, I just hadn’t posted since July when I went to Darjeeling. I visited lots of National Parks, working on that post now. The weather wasn’t ‘bad’ per se, however summer is not really the best time to be in India. It tends to be very hot (which it was in Kolkata) or very rainy/flooded (like in the mountains and some other cities).

      Like

Leave a comment